clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chizik Finalist for National Coach of the Year Award

Gene Chizik, Head Coach of the Auburn Tigers has been named a finalist for the 2010 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award by the Football Writers Association of America.

Coach Chizik has led his team to an SEC Western Division Championship and a spot in The SEC Championship Game December fourth in Atlanta's Georgia Dome. He has guided his team to a number two national ranking this season and the Tigers are the only undefeated team in the SEC.

Chizik's 11 - 0 start this season and overall 19 - 5 record is the second most wins for any new coach's first two years in Auburn history. The 11 - 0 start this season is only the third time that feat has been accomplished. The other two 11 - 0 starts came in 1993 and 2004.

A great article was written about Coach Chizik in the Monday edition of the St. Petersburg Times and linked by our own Koolbell here at Track ‘Em Tigers. If you haven't already read the piece check it out here.

The award was named in honor of former Grambling State University Coach Eddie Robinson in 1997.  Coach Robinson had 408 wins during his career which is the most Division I wins in the history of college football.

The Coach of the Year winner will be revealed by the Football Writers Association of America and the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl at the 53rd annual banquet to be held December 6th at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Congratulations Coach and War Eagle!