clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Newton Named AP Player of the Year

Getty Images

Cam Newton has added yet another award to his trophy case. He was named Wednesday as the 2010 Associated Press Player of the Year. He has won just about every major award possible for a collegiate football player. He has won the SEC Player of the Year, the Davey O'Brian Award as the nation's top quarterback, the Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, the Walter Camp 2010 Player of the Year, the Sporting News Player of the Year, the Heisman Trophy, and is a consensus All American, having been placed on four of the five major All American teams.

Earlier this year he broke Jimmy Sidle's 47 year record to become the top running quarterback in SEC history. He also broke nine school records during the 2010 season. Cam is the first SEC player to run for 1,000 yards (1,409) and throw for 2,000 or more (2,589) in the same season. He has joined Tim Tebow and Collin Kaepernick as only the third player in NCAA history to run for 20 touchdowns and throw for 20 in the same season.

Newton received 51 of the 56 votes cast in winning this latest honor.  Boise State's Kellen Moore received three votes for second place and Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck had two votes.

As impressive as all of the awards are to most of us, the one that Cam has repeatedly said he is most interested in, is to help his team win the National Championship. At this point it looks like that's all there is left for Super Cam to accomplish.