clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gene Chizik Named SEC Coach of the Year

Getty Images

Auburn Coach Gene Chizik has been named the SEC Coach of the Year by the Associated Press. Chizik in only his second year as Head Coach has guided his Tigers to an SEC West Division Championship, an SEC Championship, and a berth in the National Championship game in Glendale, Arizona January 10th.

He headed  a slew of Auburn names recognized today by the AP. Cam Newton was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, Nick Fairley was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year, and a total of seven Tigers were named to All SEC teams.

In what has to be a  very proud  honor for both his family and Auburn fans - Zac Etheridge made Honorable Mention All SEC. Other Tigers making All SEC where First Team: Lee Ziemba, Ryan Pugh, Cam Newton, and Nick Fairley. Second Team selections were: Byron Isom, Antoine Carter, and Josh Bynes.

Coach  Chizik's 13 - 0  season and overall 21 - 5 record is the most wins for any new coach's first two years in Auburn history. The 13 - 0 record this season is only the second time that feat has been accomplished. He was the Defensive Coordinator for the Tigers, the other time Auburn had 13 wins in 2004. The coaching honors for Chizik may not end with the 2010 SEC Coach of the Year honor; he is also a finalist for three National Coach of the Year Awards.

Coach Trooper Taylor said recently that without question Chizik is the reason for the team's success and for keeping the staff and the players focused for every game. "The man is amazing. He has a plan for everything and he is a tireless worker who inspires those around him."

There can be little doubt that Coach Chizik has connected not only with his players and inspired them; but he has also connected with the Auburn family.  We're proud you are our coach - Coach Chizik. Congratulations and War Eagle!