clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mike Dyer Named To Doak Walker Award Watch List



For the second time in less than two weeks Auburn Running Back sensation Michael Dyer has been named to the watch list for one of College Football's major awards. He has been placed on the 2011 Doak Walker Award preseason list; which is given to the nation's top college running back.

Dyer was also named earlier as one of the candidates for the Maxwell Award presented annually to the best player in college football. Last year's award was won by the 2011 Heisman Winner Cameron Newton.

Both the Doak Walker Award and the Maxwell Award will be presented at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN.

Mike ran for 1093 yards last year, breaking Bo Jackson's freshman rushing record. He had four 100 yard games including a high of 180 yards against Ole Miss. He finished up with a 143 yard performance against Oregon in the BCS National Championship Game, earning him the Offensive MVP Award.

He was Named to the Southeastern Conference Coaches' All-Freshman Team in 2010 and was named Friday to the SEC Coaches' Preseason All-SEC Second Team for 2011.

Congratulations Mike and War Eagle!