clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chizik To Receive Amos Alonzo Stagg Coaching Award

After leading his team to win the BCS National Championship in January, Auburn Head Coach Gene Chizik received many accolades, including four National Coach of the Year Awards. Now the announcement came today that Chizik will be given another honor when The United States Sports Academy recognizes him on August 15th with it's 2011 Amos Alonzo Stagg Coaching Award.

The Award is given annually by the Academy to an, "individual who has experienced outstanding achievement as coach and who exhibits a high standard of propriety, imagination, and innovation as a character-builder in the tradition of great teacher-coaches."

In announcing the selection the United States Sports Academy's news release said, "In 2008 when he was named coach, Chizik inherited an Auburn team that had finished with a 5-7 record. He quickly began rebuilding the program. Auburn defeated the University of Oregon in the BCS title game, which was selected as the Academy's 2010 College Football Game of the Year. Auburn's 2010 season was arguably one of its best in the school's history."

"Despite a rugged schedule that included 10 games against bowl-eligible teams, Auburn finished undefeated. In fact, Auburn was the only team in the country that won seven games against teams ranked in college football's Top 25. 

Chizik, who served as Auburn's defensive coordinator from 2002-04, proved he could be successful as a major college head coach in his first season with Auburn. The Tigers had an 8-5 record and a 2010 Outback Bowl victory, which made him the first head coach in Auburn history to lead his team to a bowl game in his first season. He is the third coach in Auburn history and only the third Southeastern Conference coach since 1992 to win his first five games as head coach."
The United States Sports Academy is an independent, nonprofit, accredited, special mission sports university created to serve the nation and the world with programs in instruction, research and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports.

The award is named for the University of Chicago's legendary football, basketball, and baseball coach Amos Alonzo Stagg. Previous winners of the award include Joe Paterno, Don Shula, Bobby Bowden, Nick Saban, Eddie Robinson, Larry Bird, Bill Belichick, and Tony Dungy.

Congratulations Coach on yet another well deserved recognition for the great work you are doing at Auburn University; and War Eagle!