clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tigers Dominate Indiana State 83-64

New, 7 comments

Auburn opens Charleston Classic with a solid win over the Sycamores.

NCAA Basketball: SEC Tournament-Auburn vs Missouri Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

Auburn improved to 2-0 on the season and opened the Charleston Classic with an 83-64 victory over the Indiana State Sycamores Thursday afternoon.

After an easy opening night win over Norfolk State, in which Bryce Brown scored 31 points and went nuts from the perimeter, the Tigers enjoyed a more balanced scoring effort on Thursday on the coast. Indiana State cooled off greatly from its first game of the year where the Sycamores hit seventeen threes against Indiana.

After opening up a 13-4 lead less than six minutes into the ballgame, Auburn doubled up Indiana State with roughly three minutes to play in the half after a Davion Mitchell free throw to make it 46-23. Auburn led by 21 at the intermission, and grew that lead to 64-41 midway through the second half on a Chuma Okeke three.

Four players scored in double figures, led by Bryce Brown’s 15 points. Desean Murray notched 14, while Chuma Okeke and Mustapha Meron each scored 11. Overall, nine Tigers scored on the day, and the defense held Indiana State to just 30% shooting from the floor and from downtown.

With the win, Auburn moves into the winner’s bracket, where they’ll play whichever team comes out on top between Temple and Old Dominion tomorrow at 10:00 CST/11:00 EST. If the Tigers win that game, they’ll face someone out of the bottom half of the bracket for the Charleston Classic championship on Sunday at 8:00 CST/9:00 EST.