clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Auburn Places Six on All-SEC Team

Award season begins with a bang for the Tigers!

Alabama v Auburn Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The regular season (and championship weekend) is over, and award season has begun nicely for the Auburn Tigers, as the AP All-SEC Teams were announced earlier today.

Auburn placed four players on the First Team, including Kerryon Johnson, who won SEC Offensive Player of the Year. The three other Tigers to join him are Braden Smith, Jeff Holland, and Daniel Carlson.

Kerryon Johnson struggled in the SEC Championship loss to Georgia with that bad shoulder, but he still managed to put together a fantastic season as he paced Auburn with 1320 yards on 263 carries to go along with 17 touchdowns. He added another pair of scores on the receiving end of things and notched over 1500 all-purpose yards on the season. Johnson becomes Auburn’s fourth SEC Offensive Player of the Year since the award was split into Offense/Defense. He joins Jason Campbell, Cam Newton, and Tre Mason in that regard. Before the split, Rudi Johnson, Tracy Rocker, Bo Jackson, Joe Cribbs, Pat Sullivan, Tucker Frederickson, Jimmy Sidle, Travis Tidwell, and Walter Gilbert all won the overall Player of the Year award in their careers.

KJ wasn’t the only winner of an individual award, however, as Jarrett Stidham shared the award for Newcomer of the Year with Georgia quarterback Jake Fromm.

Stidham led Auburn to a 10-3 record this year, and controlled the offense in wins over #1 Georgia and #1 Alabama in the month of November. He finished the regular season with 2,827 yards passing (66.7% completion) and 17 touchdowns to just four interceptions. He’ll have a chance to become just the second 3,000-yard passer in Auburn history when the Tigers play UCF in the Peach Bowl.

Stidham also earned 2nd-Team honors at quarterback, and he was joined by Carlton Davis to give Auburn six total players on the All-SEC teams.

War Eagle!