clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derrick Brown SEC Defensive Player of the Year

Auburn’s defense well-represented on the All-SEC teams

NCAA Football: Alabama at Auburn John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

In a move that surprises nobody, Derrick Brown was named the 2019 SEC Defensive Player of the Year today when the AP All-SEC Teams were released.

Brown becomes the first Defensive POTY from Auburn since Nick Fairley won the award in 2010, while Tracy Rocker won Player of the Year in 1988 before the awards were split into Offensive and Defensive honors.

In addition to Derrick Brown, Marlon Davidson and K.J. Britt were also named to the first team, while Jeremiah Dinson found his way onto the second team. No offensive players made the cut for Auburn.

Historically, Auburn has harbored Player of the Year candidates fairly regularly. The Tigers had 9 POTY awards handed out before the split came in 2002, and they’ve had 4 Offensive POTY awards, 2 Defensive POTY awards, and 4 Special Teams POTY awards since 2002.

Jason Campbell won Player of the year in 2004, then Cam Newton in 2010, Tre Mason in 2013, and Kerryon Johnson in 2017. Defensively, it was Fairley and now Brown, while Cadillac Williams won Special Teams POTY in 2004, John Vaughn earned the honor in 2006, and Daniel Carlson won back-to-back awards in 2016 and 2017.

Derrick Brown is also up for a number of national awards, although he came up short in the Nagurski Trophy voting, losing to Ohio State’s Chase Young. Brown is still up for the Outland and Bednarik awards as well. War Eagle!